Back to All Events

AGM 2019 and Board Nomination

AGM Banner.jpg

AVA Annual General Meeting

Wednesday 18 September 2019, 6pm, Main Gallery

Public address: Introducing the AVA 50 Celebrations with Mary Corrigall, Kim Gurney and Heeten Bhagat

Our Annual General Meeting will take place on 18 September 2019. Most importantly, this year, we will conduct a public election of a maximum of three new board members and the possible re-election of current board members. Anyone is welcome to sit in on AGM proceedings, and all paid-up AVA members may nominate and vote.

Download nomination forms here and details of the process below.

All nomination forms must reach AVA by FRIDAY, 6 September 2019.

You may e-mail completed nomination forms to, or hand them in at the gallery on 35 Church Street, Cape Town. Nominations by post are accepted, provided they reach the AVA by due date.


The Association for Visual Arts (AVA) is managed by a Board of volunteers, that is nominated and elected annually at its AGM. This year there are up to three positions on the Board available for new members. Looking ahead to celebrating 50 years of AVA operation on 35 Church Street in 2021, for which four special programmes are currently being prepared, we are strategically calling for (1) a treasurer, (2) an archivist or librarian, and (3) someone with skills in the fields of marketing or design. 

You may nominate any person who you think will serve this voluntary association. 
 Meetings of the full board take place quarterly, after 5pm. 
Sub-Committees (ExCo, Selection & ArtReach, Fundraising, Governance and Marketing) meet less frequently.

The present Committee comprises of:

Jacques du Toit (Chairperson, ExCo and Governance Committee); Diana Williams (ExCo and Fundraising Committee); Graeme Scott (Treasurer and ExCo); Belisa Rodrigues (Governance and Fundraising Committee); Eunice Geustyn (Selection Committee); Annebelle Schreuders (Marketing Committee); Reneé Holleman (Governance and Fundraising Committee) Wonder Marthinus (Selection and ArtReach Committee); Cheryl Traub-Adler (Selection Committee), Loyiso Qanya (Selection and Governance Committee) and Mirjam Asmal (Ex-Officio).

AVA is now calling for nominations for new Board Members. Any paid-up member may nominate (a) member(s) of their choice. Voting by ballot will take place at the AGM.

Your nominations MUST include the signature of the nominee, (indicating his/her acceptance to stand for the AVA's Board) as well as his/her CV abbreviated to max. 100 words, and a max. 100 -word intention (motivation). 

Please remember that all Board Members offer their services on a voluntary basis. Membership of the AVA is payable annually, and the following AVA members benefits may be received:

  • Keeping up to date with the local art scene.

  • Invitations to all exhibition private views and/or openings.

  • Invitations to artist/curator walk-abouts.

  • Ticket discount to events and other programmes.

  • Discount of 5% on selected artworks sold at the AVA Gallery

  • Discount of 10% on art supplies acquired from Deckle Edge.

  • Discount of 10% on primed stretch canvasses acquired from Artland.

  • Discount of 10% on selected photographic printing at Cameraland.

  • A negotiated discount on venue rental for functions, events and exhibitions.

  • A complimentary glass of Spier wine on First Thursdays.

  • A complimentary glass of wine or cup of coffee or tea with a full breakfast or lunch at Mozart on Church.

Download nomination forms here and details of the process below.